The Appeal of Shallow Depth of Field

Canon Light Trap, FD  f/1.2 85 mm L

Canon Light Trap, FD f/1.2 85 mm L


The conscious application of shallow depth of field precedes photography. Vermeer did that!
Granted, he probably used a camera obscura that only needed a recording medium other than pen and paper in order to become a camera as we know it today.
Ever since Nièpce invented light-sensitive coatings, camps have been divided between naturalists of the f/64 persuasion who would like to foster the illusion of endless depth of field and subjectivists who regard shallow depth of field as one of the few distinctly photographic means of expression.
I count myself with the latter camp and therefore felt lucky to have snagged a Canon FD f/1.2 85 mm L lens off the ‘bay. Good degree of preservation, too.
Lacking a subject for portraiture, I shot this with the aid of two bathroom mirrors.
Gotta Work on that Severe Countenance

Gotta Work on that Severe Countenance


At f/1.2, naturally.

Flattr this

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “The Appeal of Shallow Depth of Field”

  1. How To Find Your Subject « Mostly Black & White Says:

    […] than reason. The whole thing worked back-asswards, finding that title gave me a concept. With the FD f/1.2 85mm L lens on the F-1 New, I picked faces out of the crowd of somberly-clad geeks. iPhone location shot in […]

  2. Portrait « Mostly Black & White Says:

    […] This is what Tri-X in the Canon F1-New and the FD f/1.2 85 mm L will do. Of course, it helps that I know the subject very well. He’s my son. Still, I think […]

Leave a comment