How To Find Your Subject

A Small Theater in Munich, Filled with Geeks

A Small Theater in Munich, Filled with Geeks


For me, the easiest way to find new subjects is through involvement. For example, I’m in Munich right now, having had a short night’s sleep after attending a live podcasting event yesterday. The organizers were the folks from Bits und so. Among other things, they do a weekly podcast about all things Apple, iOS, Mac, net politics and related matters. Needless to say, I listen in to their podcast every week and when their live event to celebrate their two-hundredth podcast fell into a holiday week for me, I got (won on Twitter, actually) a ticket and booked train fares and hotel accomodation.
Never travel without a camera, of course. I had a vague notion that I wanted to photograph at the event, but still no concept until yesterday morning. Then, when I loaded a roll of film into my Canon F-1 New, a title suddenly popped into my head: “Geeks on Tri-X”.
I know, corny, and more rhyme than reason. The whole thing worked back-asswards, finding that title gave me a concept. With the FD f/1.2 85mm L lens on the F-1 New, I picked faces out of the crowd of somberly-clad geeks.
iPhone location shot in front of the venue. The iPhone density was extaordinary at this event!

iPhone location shot in front of the venue. The iPhone density was extaordinary at this event!


Tri-X pushed to an E.I. of 1000 worked nicely in conjunction with the fast lens, there were only a few dim corners where I couldn’t have shot hand-held. Of course, I wasn’t the only one photographing, but the only one doing it onto film. Can’t wait to develop and scan them!

Tags:

2 Responses to “How To Find Your Subject”

  1. Tweets that mention How To Find Your Subject « Mostly Black & White -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jan, Christoph Hammann. Christoph Hammann said: #bus200 aus Sicht eines Fotografen: How To Find Your Subject on Mostly Black & White – http://bit.ly/brpaHC Early bird gets the (engl.) post […]

  2. Geeks on Tri-X « Mostly Black & White Says:

    […] Mostly Black & White It’s the Arts … « How To Find Your Subject […]

Leave a Reply

