Parents, Talk To Your Kids About Linux

cautionary

I copped the tag line from this xkcd comic. By the way, the whole website and everything Randall Munroe does comes wholly recommended. The last few days, when I’ve not been working or riding my motorbike, I’ve not been heeding his advice:

Fn-spacebar (keyboard backlight on), Fn-Ctrl-Alt-F1 through F6 (open full-screen terminal), lynx slashdot.org, enjoy!

Fn-spacebar (keyboard back-light on), Fn-Ctrl-Alt-F1 through F6 (open full-screen terminal), lynx slashdot.org, enjoy!

There has been a ring-a-ring-of-laptops lately. At my doctor’s office, the software provider saw fit to disable one computer by planned obsolescence, aka software update. I’m not buying a new, overpriced computer from them. To replace the one they bricked, I’m shifting my Linux laptop to the office and replacing it with a new one. I got a good value at Amazon Warehouse Deals for a Lenovo ThinkPad X250. Don’t see any signs of prior use, it’s only that the box has been opened. It has an Intel i-7 going up to 3.2 MHz, 8 gigs of RAM, 512 gigs of SSD, a full-HD, non-touch, IPS screen and a cellphone modem. Any computer should be able to pull down the net out of thin air…
Anyway, the hardware front being secured, I didn’t even let it boot into Windows once. Installed Debian Linux (“Jessie”) on it. After the base install, I used an install log from my old, soon-not-to-be Linux laptop and the package manager synaptic to reinstall all applications I had. Then I sftp-ed into the old one and got all the photos I had there. Then I installed Dropbox on the new one and pulled down all the files I had there. Took a while!

This I'm a bit proud of. The new Linux laptop already working as a DAW workstation with my Akai Max Keyboard / USB audio interface and the modular synthesizer.

This I’m a bit proud of. The new Linux laptop already working as a DAW workstation with my Akai Max Keyboard / USB audio interface and the modular synthesizer.

And this took a bit of finagling:

The Steam game portal downloading the game Portal 2. Ahem...

The Steam game portal downloading the game Portal 2. Ahem…

So, I’m keeping busy with these kinds of things this weekend. Busy, busy, busy. Bring me some food and water!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

