It isn’t the camera

Lil' pug-nosed Rebel

Lil’ pug-nosed Rebel

I’ve known this type of Canon DSLR for years and years. Their base offering with an APS-C sized sensor. Goes by the name of Digital Rebel as well. Has continuously been updated, now comes with a 18 megapixel CMOS sensor that has gotten quite good.

So, when I saw a special offer with a standard zoom, I wanted to get a Canon again to try it out. Turns out the special price wasn’t so astounding because the zoom was a version without image stabilization that Canon doesn’t even advertise on it’s own web pages. Still ok image quality if you mind the 1/focal length = longest shutter speed rule.

A better standard lens than the one that came with it.

A better standard lens than the one that came with it.

The EF-S 24 mm f/2.8 pancake lens is visibly better, focusses nearer and just looks cute on the camera. I have that little kit in a top loader bag in in my motorbike’s tank bag and it still takes less space than the Nikon D800 with any lens. Not as much of a loss if it succumbs to the rigors of biking, too.

Here's my son. I like this portrait. It was taken with the "idiot automatic" and then heavily processed in Google's Color Efex 4.

Here’s my son. I like this portrait. It was taken with the “idiot automatic” and then heavily processed in Google’s Color Efex 4.

That’s enough image quality for me!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

