Deluxe NerdBook

Checking up on gcc in a full-screen terminal. Nerdy enough for ya?

Checking up on gcc in a full-screen terminal. Nerdy enough for ya?


Hi, I’m back! I didn’t go AWOL, I was motorcycle riding this summer. As the season was drawing to a close, I got the hankering for a new laptop. This time, I gave in to the attractions of Aplle’s walled garden. Again. And again they have delivered a fabulous machine with the late 2013 MacBook Pro 13 inch with Retina display.
A well-deserved star on the display.

A well-deserved star on the display.


The screen is the real kicker on this one! I cannot get over how ergonomic this is. It is not overly sharp per se, the font smoothing is just right, the colors (full sRGB color space, if I remember rightly) are much better than in my Lenovo’s screen and even my aging eyes feel accommodated and at home here.
The OS in it’s latest iteration, Mac OS X 10.9 codenamed Mavericks, is of course streamlined for keeping you and your data in the iCloud and making you spend your hard earned cash in the iTunes store. Recalcitrant nerd that I am, I didn’t even populate the iTunes folder with media (Spotify takes care of my background music consumption). Then I got out the can opener and a GNU manifesto and started installing stuff on the boxen. As a ports system for everything Unix I chose Homebrew. I like how that ports manager uses simple tar balls and intricate makefiles. Homebrew depends on the BSD subsystem, and that you get with Xcode which in itself isn’t a bad IDE. If you want to program in Objective C, that is. Right now, I haven’t the nerves to dip into that, again. I’m on my umpteenth iteration of trying to learn C++ properly and so I installed Code::Blocks as an IDE for that.
Here it is , running. The code does not compile.

Here it is , running. The code does not compile.


Now, here’s a hint for you if you’d like to do the same: disable the code completion plugin on this build (11.12), otherwise it crashes once the editor opens anything. Don’t need no stinking code completion…
The MacBook Pro on the other hand has quickly changed from an amenity to a need.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

