Against the Grain

Nikon F6, Nikkor 105 DC at f/2.8, Kodak Tri-X developed in Diafine, scanned with  Nikon Coolscan 5000, Nik Silver Efex 2

Nikon F6, Nikkor 105 DC at f/2.8, Kodak Tri-X developed in Diafine, scanned with Nikon Coolscan 5000, Nik Silver Efex 2


Ricoh GR (APS-C sized sensor),  ISO 400, 18,3 mm lens at f/4.0. 1/40, camera flash as fill-in

Ricoh GR (APS-C sized sensor), ISO 400, 18,3 mm lens at f/4.0. 1/40, camera flash as fill-in


These two photos stand for two very distinct modes of photography I’m using currently. The top one was taken at my older daughter’s graduation ball. I used my F6 and the fabulous 105 DC (defocus control, and that’s what it does, it controls the appearance of the out-of-focus areas!) to get impressions of the ceremony and the guests. In this case, my younger daughter fiddling nervously with her chain while her sister got her diploma. My favorite film was in the camera, and as always, I developed it in Diafine and scanned it right after it dried. I like the airy quality and long tonality scale you get from this combination of factors. And I have nothing against the grain, in fact, I like it this way.
The second photo I did while on a visit to a custom chopper maker, Thunderbike in Hamminkeln in the Ruhr region. They had an open house and show, so there would have been no way to deploy something large format and an array of flashes to take this photo of one of their over-the-top custom creations (I don’t think you can realistically expect to be able to ride it on a daily basis!) in the throng of bikers. Plus, I was there on my bike, too. But I think this shot taken with the Ricoh GR’s easily accessible functions doesn’t give up much quality. Go ahead and click it for a full size version! Focus is on the rear one of these spurs.
So, now I have and use the best of both photographic worlds, but the analog way is getting to be cumbersome. Still is worth the effort, though.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

