A Bout of Luddism

The Yngwie Strat ain't so bad, but I'd rather take my Martin

The Yngwie Strat ain't so bad, but I'd rather take my Martin


I’m leaving today for a week’s worth of medical convention in Düsseldorf. Deciding what pieces of gear to take with me has been an interesting debate with myself. Sorry if this comes over as an embarrasment of riches, but believe me, I am reducing.
I had the most difficulties deciding wich instrument to take. I’m staying at a hotel and I don’t want to annoy the other patrons with my practice sessions. The Martin with it’s booming voice was out of contention and will be sadly missed. On the other hand, I don’t want to interrupt a stretch of more than a year of daily practising. For a moment there, I thought of smuggling in the Ukulele, but that is not really practising the guitar. It is kind of a novelty for me, still. So, I decided to take the Yngwie Strat to Düsseldorf.
The scalloped fretboard and the single-coil pickups provide halfway acoustic, clean tones, but an electric of course neccessitates some kind of DI and headphones to practise it silently. The best solution I have available for that is the Amplitube app on my iPad. It just so happens I have a new one:
The newest shiny thing from the peddler of all shiny things in computerdom

The newest shiny thing from the peddler of all shiny things in computerdom


Embarrased to admit I could’nt resist the latest iteration, the screen really is the kicker! And with it’s own UMTS card, it’ll be a good fallback solution for internet access on the road. Maybe I’ll be even taking it into the lecture halls to take notes during talks.
Tom Waits getting a cold shoulder from his girlfriend on the Linux Lenovo X1

Tom Waits getting a cold shoulder from his girlfriend on the Linux Lenovo X1


But my main computer needs will be met by the Linux laptop. I’ve been configuring it to my tastes in the last week and am now comfortable with it. It now has three ways of connecting to the internets: ethernet, WLAN and another UMTS card in it’s respective, built-in modem. Regarding the latter, I was surprised to find it was easy to configure that network interface with Ubuntu’s system settings. I vividly remember having to write my own modem scripts not so many years ago for that.
At the risk of appearing as a convention slacker, I’ll also use the the Linux Laptop for my digital photography needs. Photo management will be done with Shotwell, not with iPhoto on the iPad. The latter seems to be designed to keep you in the Apple universe and allow you up the kitsch factor of your photos. No, if I want to process my photos, I have a Gimp for that!
And even that will be moot if I decide to get a used Rolleiflex 2.8 F in a store in Düsseldorf. Which is tempting…

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

