Instruments Old and New

Vagabond's Night Quarters, Light Snowfall

Vagabond's Night Quarters, Light Snowfall


I’ve been posting too little lately, and there are two reasons.

Slow Photography
I am still photographing, but coming from working with the Nikon D7000 and the attendant digital nervousness, I’ve switched back a gear or two. Dug out my “greycard” Leica IIIf, slapped on the Heliar f/3.5 50 mm, pocketed the Sekonic L-398A incident meter and stopped worrying about technicalities. All photos in this article were done with this combo on Kodak TMY2 and developed in Diafine. I’ll let them speak for this old-school approach.

New Instrument of Expression
My Axe

My Axe


This must be my mid-life crisis. I’ve taken up the electric guitar. And so I turn from an avid consumer of the incredible sounds that the likes of Yngwie Malmsteen, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Eddie Van Halen, the two Erics and Mark Knopfler (you gotta rest your ears sometimes …) have given us to a dilettante in their art.
By the way, GAS is as rampant in the guitar scene as it is in the photography community:
No, I didn't buy all those amps. Just the small one in the middle.

No, I didn't buy all those amps. Just the small one in the middle.


So, if that falls within the realm of your interests, I cordially invite you to visit my new ‘blog, called optimistically “I Wanna Be A Shredder”. Have fun!

Flattr this

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Instruments Old and New”

  1. Tabulating, Terminating, Transitioning « Mostly Black & White Says:

    […] of my life. With changing daily circumstances come changes in perspective. As I’ve hinted at here, I’m learning to play the electric guitar. For the moment, that has taken the front seat, […]

Leave a Reply

