Two Customer Service Experiences

Lining up for luxury, that’s what I expected yesterday. Instead, I got the runaround from the Deutsche Telekom, formerly known as T-mobile. What was it all about? The start of the reservations for the new iPhone 4. My contract runs out in one month’s time, so it was only natural to want to get a new iPhone while prolonging my contract. Ironically, the reservation couldn’t be done over the phone. The guy at the hotline was quite adamant about that, I would have to go visit a store. In my lunch break, I drove to the next larger town, expecting a bit of a queue of Apple fans in front of the “T-Punkt”. Not so, passing a single advertisement poster, I walzed right in and announced my intentions to a slightly bored young salesman. He reported having served only about 4-5 customers with similar requests that morning, took down the relevant data and made me sign a waiver allowing them to contact me by phone when the phone is there. Hopefully, that will be on launch day, June 24th. The whole experience seemed rather bland and needlessly convoluted, but perhaps it is because we’re in the Thuringian boondocks here.
Another service experience was in store for me after work when I tried to reactivate my copy of Photoshop CS 2 on my newly installed iMac. The Migration Assistant program was good about copying over programs (and preferences, and files …) and took his sweet time to do so, but it was half a terabyte, after all. On the new iMac, Photoshop needed to be reactivated, that was to be expected. Unexpectedly, this didn’t work, neither over the net nor with Adobe’s telephone robot. Surfing around on the Flash-afflicted Adobe site for help, I found a chat window and had a nice long chat with an Adobe representative from India. He tried hard to help me, but some canned advice obviously had to be spewed, for example he wanted me to believe CS 2 would not work on Mac OS X 10.6.3. That’s obviously bollocks, as Photoshop was working very well, thank you, in demo mode. In the end, he had me convinced that I needed to upgrade to CS 5 to be able to reactivate Photoshop on my new iMac. A while later, I was visiting online stores and goggled at the Photoshop tax that was asked of me. To make matters worse, it was the upgrade price for a whole suite, you can’t upgrade from CS 2 Suite Premium to a standalone version of Photoshop. I had never used the other programs in the suite. Ok, enough with the whingeing.
Loath to pay the tax, I didn’t click “Buy now” but surfed the Adobe site for information on the error code with which the reactivation had failed. That proved fruitful, even a download of some helpful authentication files was provided. When they were installed, the reactivation ran through without a hiccup. Obviously a non-Indian thing.
To sum it up, yesterday I got the impression that the Deutsche Telekom didn’t want my money while Adobe wanted it very badly.

Flattr this

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

