The Leica Gateway Drug

Berlin does have it’s temptations. Yesterday, I spent my lunch break at the Leicashop off Ku’damm looking at M lenses, especially in the wide angle and normal focal lengths. The used lenses they had in commission weren’t attractively priced, but two new lenses did interest me. One was the Summicron f/2.0 50 mm, first picture below. I had this lens when I owned an Epson RD-1 and sold it with this camera. Even on the digital sensor, it’s sharpness and contrast were outstanding. Stupid to have sold it!
The other temptress was the Elmarit f/2.8 28 mm asph. Even Leica admits it is meant as an introduction to the Leica system. The lens is uniquely small, not much bigger than my Voigtländer f/2.5 35 mm pancake lens. Second picture below.
Someone please hold me back …


Flattr this

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

