iPad First Impressions

The iPad WiFi + 3G I ordered came one day early (courtesy of an overloaded UPS system, I suppose) yesterday. First impressions are markedly different from other computer experiences I’ve had. First of all, it is totally silent, no whirring fans or disks. Together with the sequential usage of single apps (no multitasking here until iPhone OS 4 comes out), that’s got to foster concentration.
Some apps do talk with each other, e.g. you can store websites to read later in Instapaper from Twitterific and Newsrack. Or integrate photos into WordPress blog articles 😉
As for photo related usage: When I used the camera connection kit to get some photos from my Ricoh GRD III, the Photos app seemed to store JPEGs as well as RAW files, actually saying so as an overlay over each imported picture. But after synching the iPad back to the Mac, the RAW files are nowhere to be found. So, it doesn’t seem to work as an image tank.
More impressions later, I’ve got a weekend on call coming up to put the iPad through it’s paces.
Update: The lost RAW files have turned up. They were still on the iPad and synched back to the Mac when I used iPhoto ’09. My bad, obviously, for using outdated software.


Flattr this

Tags: , ,

One Response to “iPad First Impressions”

  1. Ipad First Impressions Mostly Black & White Says:

    […] The iPad WiFi + 3G I ordered came one day early (courtesy of an overloaded UPS system, I suppose) yesterday. First impressions are markedly different from other computer experiences I’ve had. First of all, it is totally silent, …Click Here […]

Leave a Reply

