Old Cameras – Old Pianos

Looking Through My Calumet C-1

Looking Through My Calumet C-1


What do old cameras and old pianos have in common?
My Son At His New (Old) Piano

My Son At His New (Old) Piano


They have a voice, a character of their own. Yesterday, we bought an upright piano for my son to practice on. We found a Carl Worch concert piano from Leipzig made around 1900 at a dealer in Weimar. It was lovingly restored and sported Dracula-esque candlestick-holders. But what a tone it has! To crumble walls! Reminded me of my Grey Beast, the Calumet C-1. Made in the 1950-ies, not restored ever, bellows patched up and sporting lots of different-looking knobs, it isn’t a beauty. But I make all my 8×10 inch negatives with it, and it has a mighty voice, too!
But I’m just glad I don’t have to schlepp the piano around like I have to with the C-1. That’s for the haulers coming tomorrow.

Flattr this

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

