Is This The Droid You’ve Been Looking For?

Motorola Droid 2 with a Nerdy Twitter Status Update

Motorola Droid 2 with a Nerdy Twitter Status Update


I haven’t given up on Android, though I’ve written nothing on the mobile OS and phones it runs on in quite a while. The newest incarnation at my house is a Motorola Droid 2, or, as they say outside the US, Milestone 2. It’s a slider keyboard smartphone, and I wanted to try one of them as long as they are around.
It certainly feels less cramped than the HTC Legend I had before

It certainly feels less cramped than the HTC Legend I had before


My use of a smartphone is heavily text-centered, I want to be able to write e-mails, use a TTY console and post to Twitter without much fuss. Even good software keyboards like the one in the iPhone 4 leave something to be desired here. I wont even mention the unholy combination of large fingertips on that keyboard and an imaginative autocorrection program. Suffice it to say that a whole new genre of spoof websites has sprung from it. The Droid 2 slide-out keyboard is not the be-all end-all in that regard, but for fast text entry, it is much more reliable.
Yesterday, I went on this hike and updated my Twitter timeline at the start. It was all done in a mere in 2, 3 minutes, with photo.

Yesterday, I went on this hike and updated my Twitter timeline at the start. It was all done in a mere in 2, 3 minutes, with photo.


In these halcyon days of customizing a new phone, I’ve also installed a few network and terminal oriented apps and rooted the phone (I thought I might as well. I’ve had root on all my Linux boxen, so why not on this one?). So now I can scan for WiFis, scan in the WiFi for computers and routers, portscan them, capture packets and ssh or telnet.
Don’t worry, I’m keeping my white hat on. Mostly. Mu-ha-ha.
These days not being as halcyon as they could be, there are some cons, too, of course. Some of the Motorola widgets on the Droid 2 are crap. The Twitter widget is laggy in updating. The “connected music player” is a UI catastrophe, intermittently tweets the songs you’re playing with nonsensical texts and can’t be uninstalled. I installed another player, but the first one seems to be hard-wired to the start-stop-button of my Motorola (ha!) Bluetooth headphones. So now, if I don’t adhere to strict protocol, both players are playing simultaneously. Ok, a rooted Android smartphone is a fine way to shoot yourself into the foot. I knew that.
Apropos music, on that seven-hour hike you saw the start of above, I had Dire Straits and podcasts playing almost continuously. The Droid 2 was in an outside pocket of my backpack at freezing temperatures, but it’s battery wasn’t the first one to strike it’s colors, it was the one in the Bluetooth headphones. The phone had a charge of 15% left when I got back to the parking lot. Fine Job.

Flattr this

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

